West Virginia Travel Regions
-Wonders of WVA
|West Virginia: Mid Ohio Valley: History|
Built c. 1840 to serve as the first courthouse for Wirt County, this museum exhibits county memorabilia.
Blennerhassett Historical State Park
Parkersburg, (304)420-4800,(800)CALL WVA
This island park features the beautiful, reconstructed 18th century mansion of Harman Blennerhassett, who allegedly conspired with Aaron Burr to establish an empire in the Southwest. Accessible by sternwheeler from Point Park in Parkersburg.
This 107-year-old Registered National Historic Landmark features 104 elegantly appointed rooms, meeting and banquet facilities plus fine dining in Harman's Restaurant. Valet parking.
One of the few remaining buildings from Wood County's settlement period, this unique Federal style house, built in 1825-29, welcomes visitors with hands-on exhibits.
Early Americana Museum
Step back 200 years. A collection of exhibits and displays depicts aspects of early American life.
Henderson Hall Historic District
The centerpiece of this 65-acre district is a pre-Civil War mansion built in the Italianate Villa style, complete with its original furnishings. It is the best preserved and most significant example of this architectural style surviving in the state. Built in two sections beginning in 1836, the main part of the house was constructed between 1856-59. Open May-October.
Henry Cooper Log House
Originally constructed in Mineral Wells in 1804, this was one of the first two-story cabins in the area. The house was moved to City Park in 1910 to become a museum.
Julia-Ann Square Historic District
Once home to Parkersburg's most prominent families, this district contains excellent examples of late 19th century architectural styles. Homes in this district generally date from the Civil War to the turn of the century.
Oil & Gas Museum
Parkersburg's heritage is chronicled through the equipment, photos and video from the early oil and gas days of the area. Open weekends or by appointment.
Ruble Log Church
Burning Springs, (304)275-3846
Built of handhewn logs by Aaron Ruble (c. 1854), the church still retains its original appearance. It is one of the oldest structures in the Little Kanawha River Valley and once served as a schoolhouse.
Sarvis Fork Covered Bridge
Originally constructed in 1889 at Carnahan's Ford, this 101-foot bridge was moved to its present site in 1924. From Sandyville, north on County 21, 1.2 miles, turn right on County 21/15.
Staats Mill Covered Bridge
Constructed in 1887, this 97-foot bridge was moved to its present location at Cedar Lakes Conference Center, near Ripley, in 1982. Fairplain Exit, I-77, follow signs to Cedar Lakes.
Trans Allegheny Book Store
Spiral iron staircases, brass railings and carved marble mantelpieces are significant architectural features of this 1904-05 book store, which previously served as a library.
Wood County Courthouse
Begun in 1899, Wood County's courthouse is of Richardsonian Romanesque architecture, one of the first architectural styles developed in America.